Where I put thoughts to text

Subscribe via RSS Feed

All the blogs that came before

posted on:

This is not my first blog. I have had a few. They all have two things in common:

  1. They were short-lived with only a few posts and not many ideas; and
  2. They were pretty much unread. Or at least no one ever left any comment.
I quickly started to wonder what the point was after all, if I had anything to say to begin with. I thought I hadn't. I still don't think I have anything important to say. But I do like to think, and ponder, and think some more. And then comes a point where my head is so full of all my thoughts going in all kinds of directions, spawning new trails of interesting topics to think about, that I don't know where to continue thinking. Those thoughts need to get out of my head and onto... well, paper? I do journal, sometimes, but that doesn't quite make sense here and it's a story for another time anyway. No, some thoughts are so complex that I need to type them, copy and paste them around, delete whole paragraphs and insert new ones. Quickly. So typing it is. But unlike my journaing, which I keep pretty private, I do want to share these thoughts with others.

Sounds perfect for a blog, doesn't it? Exactly. So here I am. Typing away in a text editor, wrapping my (not quite) first blog post into HTML tags.

I'm not a writer though.

I don't have formal writing training beyond what I learned in school 30 years ago -- and forgot along the way. I don't know how to structure an essay in a meaningful way. I have no idea how to put my often complicated, because long and wild and convoluted thought strings into sentences that make sense. Or how to form readable texts out of those sentences.

I am just someone who wants to put thoughts into text.

Maybe you want to read that text. I would be glad if you did.

I do not have, nor do I want to have, a publishing schedule, a certain set of topics I want to cover, or any other plan whatsoever. There's only one rule: To write when I want, and about whatever topic I want. Though I guess that are two rules. He!

So, how long do you think I'll stay motivated to do this? How long until this blog goes the way all the blogs I had before went? I do not know. And I think it's best not to think about it. I should just take one step at a time and see where it'll take me.

PS, I actually do think that because I'm writing, I am a writer. ;)

PPS, English is not my native language, so there will be grammar and spelling mistakes. If you spot one and it is bothering you, either say nothing, or be kind and point me towards it so that I can fix it. I prefer BE spelling, but I am sure some AE spelling will slip in. Just accept it. ;)

-Elena.

Leave a comment in the Fediverse