Where I put thoughts to text

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Is my blog dead?

posted on:

It's been a while since I've published a blog post. It's not that I have nothing to say anymore. I do. And I do write. But nothing passes the stage of rough first draft.

Why is that? Why don't I work on these drafts?
One explanation might be that once the thoughts have left my brain, are out there on paper, physical or digital, they are said and kind of processed. I'm done with them. On to the next thing!
And that may lead to another explanation: I have 100 interests and often I find myself almost paralysed by all the things I want and need to do. There's housework. There are hobbies and interests. So many interests. I haven't knitted or spun in years. I'm almost never reading. (Except on holidays.) All the stationery I have collected like a crazy woman over the last year or two is just sitting there. When I look at all my hobby stuff I sigh and feel sad. And bad too.

When I find a new thing I tend to dive in head first and deep. For weeks, months even, all I do in my spare time is that new thing. Right now I'm obsessed with bonsai. Or more precisely, with this youtube channel: The Bonsai Zone. I binge watch for hours. I'm lost. I do not want to start a bonsai collection at all. I would love to, but I do not have the time, nor the energy, nor the space for one. But regardless, for now I am obsessed.

So, is my blog dead?
Obviously not, as I have just published this post. But I don't think I'll have any sort of regular schedule - and that has never been my intention to begin with. And yet, I don't want to not post anything for months either.

How can I make it a more regular thing then?
I do have down time at work sometimes. That's when I take out my notebook and jot down thoughts. I usually don't develop whole texts just then. But I have often thought that it would have been nice to have my laptop with me so I could just start typing. So I think I'll take my laptop to work next week to try this out.

-Elena

Leave a comment in the Fediverse