Where I put thoughts to text

Subscribe via RSS Feed

You can keep a journal!

posted on:

If you want to do something creative, do it!
It's as easy as that. Or is it?
Of course it is! Of course it isn't!

Continue reading...

Times are a-changing

posted on:

I used to think that autumn was my favourite time of the year. I came to the realisation that that is actually not true. However, I still think the light is beautiful in autumn, especially on the changing leaves, the days are still warm, and yet it is time to put out the cozy (in my case often handknit) scarves and pullovers that have been sleeping in the closet all summer.
Another great thing that happens: We're going to return to normal time and dial our clocks back by one hour. In Germany that always happens on the last Sunday in October, which this year is today, the 29th.

Continue reading...

Is my blog dead?

posted on:

It's been a while since I've published a blog post. It's not that I have nothing to say anymore. I do. And I do write. But nothing passes the stage of rough first draft.

Why is that? Why don't I work on these drafts?

Continue reading...

Of Big Tech Jungles and Digital Gardens

posted on:

Inspired by 99% Invisible's "The Lost Cities of Geo" and Maggie Appelton's "A Brief History & Ethos of the Digital Garden". Thank you, Lost Letters for the link to the latter.

I like the idea of looking at the internet as a city or cities. There are tiny villages, small towns, big cites. And they each have different neighbourhoods, borroughs, quarters, etc. The internet also has its many and very different areas: There are personal websites, porfessional websites, company websites, websites maintained by governments and political parties, forums, websites to share photos, videos, music, books. There are apps you load on your phone. You can see a doctor via the internet, you can talk to friends and family, have job interviews, online courses, webinars. You can even marry online.

Continue reading...

All the blogs that came before

posted on:

This is not my first blog. I have had a few. They all have two things in common:

  1. They were short-lived with only a few posts and not many ideas; and
  2. They were pretty much unread. Or at least no one ever left any comment.

Continue reading...